Team USA Squad Announcement – North America Cup

The Past

The United States has traveled extremely well to the North America Cup throughout the 17 years of its existence. As the all-time leader in the series over Canada by a score of 11-5, Team USA will look to take back the Cup which was snatched away from them on their home turf of South Carolina in 2018. The Canadians will put up their strongest test for the traveling Americans as they head to TPC Toronto which is renowned as one of the most difficult, and well-respected courses in the area.

In past tournaments, gracing the various host-courses throughout the years for Team USA have been Rickie Fowler (2003) and Morgan Hoffman (2005), both of whom have become incredible professional golfers, kickstarted by their successes in this international junior tournament, and in the promise they showed as talented youngsters.

To this day, the talents levels in the event have kept up to the same standards, as both IJGA and CJGA boast some of the most skilled junior golf players in their respective countries.

Team USA

Headlining Team USA are 2019 Playing Captain Jaden Wiseman (Malvern, PA), 2018 Playing Captain Mikee Ordona (Upland, CA), and IJGA-representing Chase Phillips (Hilton Head Island, SC), all of whom have competed in the event at least three occasions in the past, and will look to continue to make their mark this year up in Canada.

Also among the three aforementioned veteran junior golfers of the tournament, three additional players will be returning to challenge for the Cup for the second consecutive year, namely Chandler Brewer (Tybee Island, GA), Alex Burnett (Owings Mills, MD), and Jeep Patrick (Hilton Head Island, SC).

To round off the rest of this year’s team, there will be six “rookies” competing for Team USA. Joining the Boys U19 division will be two IJGA Bishops Gate students in Matthew Hicks (Delray Beach, FL) and Tyden Wilson (Concord, MA), paired with IJGA South Carolina student Stephen Strasheim (Bluffton, SC). Meanwhile, the Boys U14 Division will be represented Nick Ciocca (Berwyn, PA), while the Girls Division (U19) will be represented by Kayleigh Zeman (Silver Spring, MD), and Teagan Devoe (Dallas, TX).

. . .

In total, both sides will send 12 of their finest players in each division to proudly compete for their home nations of Canada and the United States.

We wish all participants the best of luck in this prestigious tournament and shall be watching closely to see which nation will lift the Cup once this is all said and done.